Horribly dumb question, but...
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

11-07-2009 06:15

Posted by:
Jimm

Click Here to Email Jimm   Find more posts by Jimm

I'm really new to this, and all I really want to do is have a sprite move around when I press keys. No frills or directional changes, just simple motion. What would be the easiest way for me to be able to do this?

11-07-2009 09:10

Posted by:
allnodcoms

Click Here to Email allnodcoms   Find more posts by allnodcoms

Not a dumb question at all...

...that's why we're here, and Welcome to the boards ;)

First place to look is the 'Learning Zone'. Have a quick read of the Introduction Tutorials on Programming, Input and Sprites.
Taking the Quick Tour of the editor environment might be a good idea as well...

In some sort of order:
You need to draw your sprite and get it into your project -The Quick Tour will help here.
Set the Graphics Mode of your program.
You then load the Sprite - Sprite Tutorial
Set Variables to hold the Sprite position - Programming Tutorial (and see below)
Display it - Sprite
Create a 'Loop' to continually redraw the image - Programming
Inside the loop, check the state of the directional keys - Input
If a direction key is pressed then move the sprite...

To move the sprite you just need to change its X and Y coordinates then redraw it. Screen coordinates indicate a position on screen, X indicates how far across the screen a point is with 0 (zero) being far left. The higher the number the further right the point. Y is how far down the screen it is with 0 being at the top.
So to move your sprite:
Left: Decrease X
Right: Increase X
Up: Decrease Y
Down: Increase Y

That should help you along your way, have a little play with that and if you get stuck just let us know.
Understanding the logical steps behind the problem, then finding how to implement those steps in TNT is the best way to learn.

Good luck and enjoy TNTBasic

Danny (nod the mod)

11-07-2009 17:40