forums

TNT Basic Forums > Beyond Basic
When TNT's open source, who'll work on it?
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

08-25-2005 22:35

Posted by:
someone

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

Hi, i just wondered who here intends to work on TNT when it's open source, and what you're planning to add.

Personnally, i've been learning a lot of C++ recently (not quite hard i'm already used to Java and C) and i've been making an OpenGL 3d engine i plan to use to make games - if nobody with more experience than me vonluteers to add 3D to TNT i could maybe give it a try

it'd be nice to have an overview of what new features we could expect to see added to TNT and how many programmers are willing to help ;)

08-25-2005 23:48

Posted by:
allnodcoms

Click Here to Email allnodcoms   Find more posts by allnodcoms

I'm in!

Hi Mathew, good post. I've been working in C for over ten years now, and prior to that I used assembler, and the Atari version of the language that started TNT off. I'd really like to see a bit more low level stuff in there, like in the STOS / AMOS days (that's the PEEK / POKE stuff for anyone old enough to remember it)! It's a doddle to put in, but it would give so much more freedom.
I'd like to have a go at the graphics engine, 2D at present as I think it's wiser to consolidate whet we have before we move on, but I feel there is definite room for improvement. Maps could do with a bit of a shake up, the IDE needs an overhaul, and of course it is screaming out for better Tiger integration. I'm just itching to get stuck in, and I'll go where I'm needed; end of the day, I'm in!

Come on then people, sign up...

Danny (nods)

08-28-2005 07:20

Posted by:
Jae Rune

Find more posts by Jae Rune