Hello
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

10-21-2005 01:44

Posted by:
Schroder

Click Here to Email Schroder   Find more posts by Schroder

Hello!, i will just jump out there and say that im brand new at design and programming. I am having some trouble getting started, i have done the tron and the pong demo set up but i am still having trouble starting my own project. i dont know where to start! i have some ideas but i dont know where to start codeing and what to code. i have read the basic manuel as well but as i said i am brand new at this and its alittle complex. so any insight or pointers on how to get going would be great thanks.

Schroder

10-21-2005 08:21

Posted by:
allnodcoms

Click Here to Email allnodcoms   Find more posts by allnodcoms

Ah, I'm in my element...

Hi Schroder, you've come to the right place. Starting a new project can be one of the hardest things you will ever do, not because it's overly complicated, but because it's just very daunting. What do you type first?

A full answer to your post would require more than a simple reply, you could devote an entire web site to this sort of topic and still not cover everything, so I will be necessarily brief. Here are a few pointers that should help you out:

1) Start here!. This is not a true introductio to programming, but it's a good start with TNT.

2) Don't write a game! Never start out to write a game, that is complicated enough. Write little 'code snippets'. Try getting a picture to display on screen until you press a button. Try moving a sprite around the screen the cursor keys. These sorts of things will only take a few lines of code, so are easy to debug (find out what is going wrong, if anything) and are a good starting block.