Problem with sound bank
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

01-26-2006 18:30

Posted by:
JHVipond

Find more posts by JHVipond

I'm new to TNT Basic, with which I hope to create TV-style games for the Mac. I've begun coding an adaptation of the Secret "X" game from The Price Is Right, for which I downloaded sound files. I dragged the sound files into a sound bank, but instead of icons, I have things like "snd 128?". What am I doing wrong?

01-26-2006 19:18

Posted by:
allnodcoms

Click Here to Email allnodcoms   Find more posts by allnodcoms

Known bug with sound

Hi JH, there is a known bug in the new sound resource format, what version of TNT are you running? If it's the new one, try using the old resource format (Mac rsrc files) and see if this solves your problem.
Take a look at this thread and see if it's the same sort of problem. If the icons show up when you drag them in, but vanish once you save and reload then I think we've found the problem. We know about it, and we think we know how to fix it, so keep an eye out for updates. This problem only effects the new 'bundle' format, not the old 'resource fork' format.

Hope this helps (at least a bit)

Danny (nods)

01-26-2006 21:22

Posted by:
JHVipond

Find more posts by JHVipond

Danny, I'm running version 1.3 of TNT Basic under Mac OS X 10.3.9 on an early-model G4 Power Mac. How long will I have to wait for a bug fix?

01-26-2006 23:27

Posted by:
allnodcoms

Click Here to Email allnodcoms   Find more posts by allnodcoms

Hopefully not long...

We're on the case with this one, we think we know the problem so a fix should be available soon. If you want to use the old resource format (you get the option to do this when you create a new project) you can get on with your game, this issue is only related to the new 'bundle' format. You could also get on with things ignoring sounds 'till the fix is out, make sounds the last thing you do.