Introduction, plus a few questions
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

08-25-2010 14:16

Posted by:
Yakkers

Find more posts by Yakkers

It looks like this forum is kind of dying out (which is a shame), but either way I'd like to take a moment to introduce myself before I drown you in noob questions.

So I've been making games for a few years now using a program by the folks at MIT called Scratch. It's a simple "programming language" based on snapping blocks and brackets together rather than typing code. It has many flaws however, including poor framerates, only being able to access projects via their website, and lack of sprite duplication. Every object is its own object with its own scripts. I've been working with TNT for two reasons, I wanted something more powerful and adaptable, and I wanted to start working with real programming. So far I've experimented with an animated tank that can be moved around, and also I'm currently working on a tic tac toe game with several difficulty settings for the computer player.

Anyways, on to my question...
Like I mentioned in Scratch, there is no sprite duplication. So when I needed to make bullets or something of that nature, I would have to make several copies of the object and have the code cycle through them, making sure I had enough for them to each reach their destination before they cycled back and were fired again. Now I see with TNT multiple objects can be spawned, so long as they each have their own index number, so I think the premise is to have the program give each one its own index number. Only thing is I don't understand at all how I would go about doing that AND having code to keep track of each one's movement and collision detection, regardless of how many are on the screen.

So if anyone is still here, can someone help me past this little roadblock of mine?

08-25-2010 19:58

Posted by:
JHVipond

Find more posts by JHVipond

Welcome, Yakkers