forums

TNT Basic Forums > Programming Q&A
Newbie/32 bit color
< Last Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread        Post A Reply

06-17-2003 17:22

Posted by:
Ken Norris

Click Here to Email Ken Norris   Find more posts by Ken Norris

Hello,

My name is Ken Norris. I've been a HC'er off-an-on since '88, and have been dabbling in Runtime Revoulution (I have the latest licensed version 2.01) and am also writing in SuperCard (also have the latest version), but neither of them are particularly good game platforms, niether support joysticks internally for example.

Can't wait to get started, but I don't have much time this time of year (I own an outdoor landscape maintainance business...very busy now).

However, all the xCards support 32 bit color, which, IMHO, is needed for anything like professional games.

So, my first Q is: Will (and if so, when) TNT support 32 bit color?

TIA,
Ken N.

06-17-2003 19:42

Posted by:
matteo

Location:
Venice, ITALY!

Click Here to Email matteo   Find more posts by matteo

It does already, in hardware mode.

Hardware mode is a bit slow but if you accept working in 640*480 it's ok.

06-17-2003 23:10

Posted by:
DanLurie

Location:
Earth>USA>New Jersey>Clifton>My Chair

Click Here to Email DanLurie   Find more posts by DanLurie

Maybe its just me, but for 2d games, I think 16 bit is more than adequate.

06-18-2003 04:47

Posted by:
puffin

Click Here to Email puffin   Find more posts by puffin

if you design for it, even 1 bit color would work fine. but 16 bit has plenty of breadth to suit just about any 2d game you could make. and on the topic, in a 2d game the resolution doesn't really matter. all an increase in resolution will do is make your graphics smaller, and if you design for lower resolutions you get a faster game with the same graphics. a lot of people seem to think otherwise.

06-18-2003 04:49

Posted by:
puffin

Click Here to Email puffin   Find more posts by puffin

"and on the topic, in a 2d game..."
i meant "and on another topic..."

06-18-2003 09:40

Posted by:
matteo

Location:
Venice, ITALY!

Click Here to Email matteo   Find more posts by matteo

yeah, I guess 16 bit is enough if you're not making quake 3. Higher Resolution makes your sprites smaller but also more resoluted ;-)

06-18-2003 13:21

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

The point wth the colors is to use the number of colours that the sprite was designed for. If you desing a 32-bit color sprite, do no try showing it in 16-bits. And even 256 colors can do neat graphics ( if you can customize the palette, like in Photoshop )

06-18-2003 22:10

Posted by:
DanLurie

Location:
Earth>USA>New Jersey>Clifton>My Chair

Click Here to Email DanLurie   Find more posts by DanLurie

Or 1 bit graphics if you ever played games on a Mac SE.

06-21-2003 15:15

Posted by:
ERaZer

Click Here to Email ERaZer   Find more posts by ERaZer

I've seen loads of really really beatiful 2D in just 8-bit, but they where of course pixelated(ie pixelart).
If you are doing 3D renderings for your sprites, you can do it almost as good in 16bit as in 32bit, if you are using atleast a decent renderer(and renders for 16bit).

06-22-2003 12:42

Posted by:
someone

Location:
Quebec ( Canada )

Click Here to Email someone   Find more posts by someone

Or you can convert them in Photoshop ( if you have it ) where you can control the dither.

All times are GMT        Post A Reply

Forum Jump:
< Last Thread     Next Thread >

< Contact Us - TNT Basic >

Powered by: vBulletin Lite Version 1.0.1 Lite
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.